The California Department of Motor Vehicles has issued a travel ban for travelers heading to the US from seven Middle Eastern countries, including Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and Kuwait.

The move comes as Iran and Saudi Arabia have begun cracking down on their citizens in an effort to curb the growing Iranian and Saudi influence in the region.

California Gov.

Gavin Newsom said Friday the ban will affect about 1 million Californians, with the first travelers expected to arrive in January.

In a statement, the DMV said it is imposing a ban on the following travel:Airlines: American Airlines, American Eagle, Southwest, American, Virgin America, Alaska Airlines, Alaska Express, United, Frontier Airlines, Southwest Express, Frontier Cargo, Virgin Atlantic, American Airlines and Spirit.

Travel agents: American Eagle Airline, Delta Air Lines, Southwest Airlines, United Airlines, Virgin Galactic, Virgin Worldwide, Virgin Australia, Air Asia, Air India, Air China, Air New Zealand, Emirates, Japan Airlines, Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Air Canada, Air Russia, Air France, Virgin Group, Virgin Mobile, SkyWest, SkySaver, Virgin USA, Virgin Islands, and Singapore Airlines.

Airports: United, United Express, JetBlue, Virgin Canada, United States Airways, Southwest Pacific, United Airline and United Express West.

The US Department of Homeland Security issued a similar travel restriction to all of its agencies in the state, including the Transportation Security Administration and the Transportation Department.ABC News’ Matthew Keys contributed to this report.

Tags: Categories: About Us